Sign in to follow this  
rnrjay

New to banding - Dr Treacy

I am new to the idea of this. I live in Katherine and have an appointment to see Dr Treacy when he next consults down here on 22nd April to discuss lap banding. I am 153cm and weight 106kg so know I fit the morbid obese category. I have attempted many different diets over the last 10 years and have been successful with small weight losses 5kg here and there. Yesterday I saw my GP and I talked to him about my weight loss (I was following a diet and exercise plan that he devised for me in Jan and have only lost 1.5kgs!), so he wrote my referral there and then on the spot. I do have private health cover with Medibank private.

Can someone please tell me what I can expect when I see Dr Treacy? What will be discussed, what are the steps after the first visit? How long from first visit to surgery?

Thanks

Hi rnrjay,

I don't know how it might be for you there, or if you are going private or public, but here's what happened for me (I'm in Tassie).

I met with the surgeon and came prepared with some questions - mostly about the procedure itself.  He spoke about the procedure and what to expect after the operation and for the first few weeks after that.  He said that with the adjustment fills, I should expect to lose between 1/2 - 1 kilo a week, and that I should be able to get to my goal weight within the year.

There was no pressure to have the procedure...this was just an information session.  But I did decide to go ahead with it during that meeting, and we booked a time for me to have the procedure.  I have private cover and was able to have the procedure done at my convenience.  I chose to have it done 3 weeks after that appointment.