Sign in to follow this  
Deex

Family and WLS.

Greetings lovely earthlings,

This entry is about lap band and family members. The entry is a little long but I guess what i am really looking for is some advice and clarrification. For those who take the time to read my entry, i thank you in advance and appreciate all comments . :)

Here goes. I am a Lap Band newbie, my sister and i decided to look into the procedure as we are both heavy set. My sister is 27 years old and i, myself am 24. Together we decided to go our local GP and inquire about WLS. Our GP weighed us both and i had come in at 132kgs whilst my sister weighed in 115kgs. Before we left, our GP voiced her opinion and told my sister that if she put in a little more effort into dieting and exersising she would be able to drop the weight with out WLS, she then told me that she recommends it for me, with my hormone imbalance, pcos and being over weight since birth, she thought i would be a great candiate for it. So with that we went home and i got stuck straight into my research. I must have spent the entire evening and early next morning looking at risks and benefits associated with lap band. I also looked at transformation photos, networking groups, diets and exercises associated with the procedure. I even watched a few videos on the surgical procedure and possible arm, breast, tummy and thigh lift procedures that might be needed afterward. The following day i had presented my sister with all the information i had gathered, excited to fill her in however she was not at all interested. When i had asked her what she knew about the LP all she said was 'It makes you lose weight fast and easy', i was instantly annoyed at her response. Here she was saying that she wanted to take the journey together, yet knew so little and refused to aquire more information, specially as seeing by day 3 of contemplating WLS i had made my own information folder. I was disheartened because i was excited about doing this together. W