lookingforward

Band as bad as what they are making out these days?

Hi all :)

I've been banded for nearly 2 years and pass my goal weight - booked in for tummy tuck in June and can not wait!! I am a practice nurse and have had Lap Surgery Australia attend two of my clinics lately and saying both times how Lapband is crap and how sleeve is so much better. Over 10 year periods lapband has been proven to be crap? Im really worried that the 6.5k I will be paying for the tummy tuck will be wasted if I go backwards? Im a terrible eater (still) - if I could be good I would not have lap band. 

One of the girls at my clinic as she was banded pre 2012 these lap Australia people gave her a FREE sleeve! Something to do with being pre 2012.

Im so worried that the band will wear off or will stop working?

Thoughts? 

My lap and is still going strong after 10 years inside me and still working. I have some horrible habits that sometimes get out of control but what it boils down to is some days if I don't watch it, I eat nothing but biscuits and coffees - I can't do that AND eat healthy meals as I don't have roomSo that part is my choice and I am certainly capable of eating enough calories to gain weight but I have ALWAYS remained below a BMI of 25.

What I think is good about the band is it does loosen a bit over time and then you tighten it up s bit - people can and do stretch out sleeves over a period of years and weight regain from stretching out a bypass pouch is wel established fact. I have even been around enough forums for long enough to have seen quite a few people get banded AFTER bypass!

Of course the big downside of the band is the vomiting and getting stuck and some people just don't tolerate it well.

• Like 1

if YOUR lap band is working fine for you and you don't have any problems, then why change?