Fay12

Depressed.....

Hello everyone 

I’ve had a gastric sleeve done about 6 years ago and I’ve the first couple of years was great. My start weight was 105kg and I reached my goal weight of 67kg with the first year. But after  having two babies I’ve managed to gain weight. My current weight is 81kg.

I feel like a failure!! I am able to eat so much it’s crazy. It’s like I haven’t even had a sleeve done 

I’ve been trying to loose the weight for so long. I’ve been going to the gym 4-5 days a week for the past 3 months. As well as eating super healthy. But the scales aren’t moving!!

can someone tell me why it’s so hard to loose weight. Is it because I’ve had a failed sleeve?

its not normal to not loose weight with Everything that I’m doing  

I’m thinking to get a resleeve  

I’ll really appreciate it if some one in my situation can share their experience with me. What did you do to loos the weight again?

I’m sorry to hear you are having a tough time if it, big hugs.

im no expert but I’ve heard that weight can be harder to lose after a surgery regain, because your body/metabolism resets to the vastly smaller portions.

have you or could you try reverting to portion control- and only eat what you would have been able to eat immediately after the sleeve? 

I’m only 8 months in and I’m able to eat more. It is easy to slip back into old habits- like eating until I’m uncomfortable, or not being fully present when munching. 

All the best! 

Weight gain is depressing :(

But congratulations on having two babies!

It might be worthwhile a visit back to your surgeon, maybe they used larger bougies 6 years ago? And s a resleeve would be tenable.

I'm 4 years post op next month, and I still use portion controlled crockery and tiny cutlery.  I also mainly do a low carb way of eating (except for the past week!).

All the best!

Thank you for your support. 

I have made an appointment with the surgeon on the 17 th. Hopefully it goes well. 

I feel so ashamed to go back in!!